Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

Billy Joyce, RIP

with 4 comments

My mother’s father died this month. Billy Ray Joyce- a terrific guy. A thin, wirey strong man with great hair who liked to talk more than most other things. Claimed to be 1/16 Cherokee. Born in Oklahoma, most of his life spent in either Witchita KS or Joplin MO. His stint in WWII was spent mostly in Algeria, where he layed down tar and built runways for Allied planes. Got Asthma as a result but the 40 years smoking didn’t help either.Visited every state in the union in his RV (except HI.) Spent years nursing his wife – my grandmother- through Alzheimer’s disease. This picture of him with the beard he took himself, soon after my grandmother’s death. The beard was his way of grieving. He was a good guy.

Written by hutchowen

August 24, 2007 at 4:06 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a great picture. Inspiring.

    johnny

    September 4, 2007 at 4:04 pm

  2. I never saw this picture of my father (I’m Tom Hart’s mom). It’s very soulful! Yes, he was a good man. I feel his presence in my life. I was very blessed to have such a dad.

    Priscilla Mullen

    September 7, 2007 at 12:48 pm

  3. Hi. I’m Tom”s Aunt Cheri. I had seen this picture of my Dad. Tom is correct, it was a part of his grieving.
    Nice write up Tom. Thanks.

    Anonymous

    September 7, 2007 at 10:42 pm

  4. Hi Tom, It’s Aunt Betty. I have this picture of dad and can remember that time. He was a good man and I like your write up of him. Thanks!

    Betty Cox

    September 11, 2007 at 8:22 pm


Leave a Reply

