Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

FourTH OBSTRUCTION: Tom’s Final (mostly)

with 4 comments

6430d039-fac3-4b68-ad7a-675eadd02a93

Here’s my (mostly) final to Matt’s fourth obstruction

 

9e0c774b-1fae-4b0f-84c0-e4a5c7bd9487

I say mostly because I clearly need to add some more black to the last panel (the floor) and will do that later.

I made a lot of changes: changed the character in the last panel, went pictorial in the first panel (after writing a pangram for it, with “extreme sliding”, “futbol”, etc.)

Still awaiting Matt’s fifth and final…

Tom

Written by hutchowen

June 15, 2007 at 12:54 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like. Great way to set-up the week.

    Nice composition on the first panel. Why not have the slider in black too (I don’t think you’ve really reached 50% black).

    The Charlie Brown-esque guy is very funny.

    Derik

    June 15, 2007 at 2:01 pm

  2. I think the Charlie Brown cameo is a result of/reaction to our earlier exchange about using characters from syndicated comics. I love it.

    Black still has a ways to go though. I think you should make the whole background “wall” black in the last panel. It will make the stars pop out more, too. I agree with Derik that you should make the slider BW too, and go for the all-silhouette panel.

    Nice work. Now get ready for your final ass-kicking! (probably not till tomorrow I’m afraid.)

    Matt Madden

    June 15, 2007 at 2:09 pm

  3. Looking back at the Crane strip, I really like what you’ve done with the woman in the last panel. It’s an unexpected use for that drawing (Wash Tubbs being thrown against the wall, upside down), and, like the pangram, serves to signal readers that unusual reading strategies are required for this week’s strips.

    Matt Madden

    June 15, 2007 at 2:12 pm

  4. Tomorrow?! Ok. This will give me a chance to finalize these strips for print before sending them off. If Matt’s final obstruction arrives Saturday, ladies and gentlemen, I probably won’t begin it until Sunday night… (It’s my mom’s birthday, this weekend.)

    Thanks for the comments on the lady at the end. I really like her.

    I’ve been worried that too much black behind her will kill her. I did already ink the floor behind her a bit, and softened up the wall. I’ll keep going and post a revision soon.

    Tom

    June 15, 2007 at 3:05 pm


Leave a Reply

