Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

FOURTH OBSTRUCTION: Tom’s Final Inks

with 7 comments

6430d039-fac3-4b68-ad7a-675eadd02a93

Ok, here’s my final to Matt’s fourth obstruction.

9e0c774b-1fae-4b0f-84c0-e4a5c7bd9487

0d8617ed-c83e-4f15-a554-ca62dcbec78a

I admit a lot of the 2nd panel and some of the 4th are Photoshopped, but it allowed me to be a bit more fearless, if not more messy. The second panel now looks like a fish, but why? Better if it were a crow…

I’m concerned the lady in the last panel won’t print well, but everything else I like quite a bit. Grateful to force myself (wait- to be forced) to use that much black.

T

Written by hutchowen

June 15, 2007 at 4:10 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes!! That last panel is now my favorite. I love how it emphasizes the “augh”-ness of Charlie Brown’s mouth.

    Still waiting to see finished inks of #3.

    Matt Madden

    June 15, 2007 at 4:23 pm

  2. Yes, those are 99% done. I’m still waiting to see what I want in the box that ends with “are dots up here in the eye.” I’m sitting on it.

    Tom

    June 15, 2007 at 5:13 pm

  3. Looks sharp, especially in color. Very well handled — especially the use / recontextualization of the Crane original and the pangrams. It’s really fun!

    Isaac Cates

    June 15, 2007 at 10:19 pm

  4. watch out frank miller, that’s a whole lotta black.

    andrew

    June 16, 2007 at 7:03 pm

  5. hi Tom ! remember me ? we met in NY 2 summers ago (matt got us in touch, thks to him )…
    is the ad on the “metro” homepage for “steve” madden an inconscious relation ? 😉
    has Matt any family making comics on shoesoles or something ? this oubapo stuff is going crazy !
    good work anyway…

    pierre maurel

    June 17, 2007 at 4:46 pm

  6. I am not related to Steve Madden, nor to John Madden the football coach, nor to the emo Madden brothers (Goodbye Charlotte?). I am related to Guy Maddin, but only creatively.

    Nice to see your name again, Pierre. I saw some of your books at Angouleme this year but didn’t see you…

    Matt Madden

    June 17, 2007 at 8:17 pm


Leave a Reply

