Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

FOURTH OBSTRUCTION: Tom’s response (pencils)

with 5 comments

6430d039-fac3-4b68-ad7a-675eadd02a93

Here’s my first pencils to Matt’s fourth obstruction

9e0c774b-1fae-4b0f-84c0-e4a5c7bd9487

I’m mostly happy with it. I wanted to tie it into the first 3, and the only way I thought to was to make it a prelude with an authorial voice to bring the reader in. I’ve always wanted to do that…

The figure in the last panel needs a better reason to exist. I think I’ll drape him in a Jack Davis overcoat (black) I’ve always wanted to copy. And his dialogue isn’t right yet.

I hope you won’t be disappointed, Matt, or think that the case of mistaken identity is spurious. It does skirt the issue a bit, but there was a lot to tackle in this strip!

The pangram should be obvious. I’m toying with fitting two in there, just cause I can.

Written by hutchowen

June 14, 2007 at 2:31 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looking good, Tom. I think this will work well as an intro to the week’s series–I was wondering how you were going to tie it in to the other three. In fact, it’s getting harder for me as we go to think of constraints that are arbitrary or, more to the point, don’t lead you in a particular direction. The next one is going to be almost as hard for me as it is for you. I probably won’t get it together until tomorrow–is that OK?

    It’s funny that you included the Ziggy reference cuz I thought about requiring you to use a synicated comics character but I decided it was too likely to cause you rights headaches.

    You’re right that I’m not crazy about the mistaken identity bit, but the notion of reader’s being surprised and thinking they’re reading the wrong strip is good.

    Not sure if you’re quite up to 50% on the blacks yet, but you’re on your way. the last panel in particular needs work…

    It seems like there’s more than one pangram–is the first panel a visual pangram? All those stray elemetns (the kite, the swap meet), make me think you are trying to include the whole alphabet disguised as images…

    Not sure I get the “klank klank” in panel two but it seems related to the “Ow Help” in the third panel. Am I missing something there? I recognize the help from the Crane strip…

    Matt Madden

    June 14, 2007 at 2:43 pm

  2. Hi Matt-

    I DO want to try to turn that first panel into a pangram, but it didn’t occur to me til later. I’ll go back and play- I think it’s a perfect place.

    The klank came from Crane but is a bit superfluous a this point. I was adding chaos; maybe I need to take some away. I left it in cause maybe it will inspire me to create more in that scene. Otherwise, maybe I’ll drop it.

    You’re right about the blacks, but I’ll get there.

    T

    PS- I was worried/wondering if this would actually become a bit of a project for you, and that it might even become challenging. Hope you don’t mind!

    Tom

    June 14, 2007 at 2:52 pm

  3. I realy like the pangram sentence in the last panel — a nice way to introduce your readers to the fact of a week of obstructions!

    Isaac Cates

    June 14, 2007 at 4:25 pm

  4. It’s a perfectly cromulent case of mistaken identity, even if it might not have been what we first expected. I am glad to see you de-violented the stip and took it in a whole different direction – was this the ‘possibly annoying’ direction of your last post?
    I am not really sure I get the circular framing device in the second panel, it sort of mirrors the action lines from the original, but it also seems to be there just to have more black?
    I will be impressed if you can make a visual pangram of the first panel. I am struggling to think of an x for the scene. eXtraneous detail, perhaps?
    Anyhow, I thought this one was going to do you in when I first read through the constraints, very nicely done.

    andrew

    June 14, 2007 at 5:21 pm

  5. Yes, that is the reason for the circular black area in panel 2. I’ll probably have to do something in panel 4 too.

    Thanks for the comments.

    Tom

    June 15, 2007 at 12:33 am


Leave a Reply

