Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

FOURTH OBSTRUCTION: Some sketches

with 4 comments

6430d039-fac3-4b68-ad7a-675eadd02a93

As I get working on this, I’m posting some sketches. Not much here, and I have an idea that will take it in a (possibly annoying) direction. But just to get a little something out there.

903b81dd-20ec-4a9a-9399-8094023b33af

cf8fa6ea-0896-4ba7-b2d7-a0f8dd71085d
One missed opportunity is the last one: trace the Crane strip at actual size from the Smithsonian book and work AROUND it, Spiegelman-like. I figured it wouldn’t print well.
5d1fe291-d4c4-4636-97b7-a0b28455c121

Written by hutchowen

June 14, 2007 at 11:36 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I see you’re planning on subverting the action and turning it into an anti-adventure strip. Hutch takes a dump. And the flashlights suggest you are thinking about all the black you need to use…

    I did an Exercise in Style in that “Malpractice Suite” style–page 73 in the book version. It’s too bad you don’t have room for it. Maybe that can be a source for a later stand-alone comic, something to send to an anthology…

    I can’t read your writing clearly enough to see how you’re dealing with the pangram–is that providing you with any content? I see a Jonah and something like Xerxes?

    I don’t know if you have the Oulipo Compendium but I suggested the mistaken identity plot with Queneau’s “X mistakes Y for Z” schema in mind. There are a few amusing examples of how this works in there if you’re looking for ideas.

    Matt Madden

    June 14, 2007 at 11:54 am

  2. Thanks for checking in, Matt. These are good ideas, and yes the names were playing with the panagram part of it. But I had so much fun with yesterday’s word-specific comic that I’m saving the panagram for last.

    I’ll check the Oulipo book but I worry that you may be disappointed by my solution to this part of it obstruction- it may be more pedestrian than you are expecting.

    Yes- the flashlights and the black- very much so yes. But even that I might omit, dammit.

    Tom

    PS- for got about the EIS Malpractice Suite strip. I’ll look before I finish…

    Tom

    June 14, 2007 at 12:17 pm

  3. Matt! That strip is wonderful! I had forgotten about it. That imagery…

    Tom

    June 14, 2007 at 2:33 pm

  4. Thanks, it took forever but I’m pretty happy with the final result.

    Matt Madden

    June 14, 2007 at 2:45 pm


Leave a Reply

