Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

Second Obstruction: Tom’s Response, FINAL

with 8 comments

6430d039-fac3-4b68-ad7a-675eadd02a93

1c5a4f12-a32c-4317-ac1d-5c3346c81af6

Well, as I work on #3, I am posting my #2 final. I tried to make the smallest number of edits possible, to keep to the spirit of the thing. In fact, I made only one drawing edit- a flipping in panel 3. I made three text edits, but one of them is in panel 3, so I broke Matt’s rule.

I’m working on #3. I’m looking at making it a bridge between strip 2 and 1.

Tom

Written by hutchowen

June 12, 2007 at 10:11 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Makes a lot more sense now, Tom. The “candies” instead of darts, gives the penultimate panel sense.

    This is starting to read like some kind of weird Popeye-esque epic.

    Derik

    June 12, 2007 at 1:54 pm

  2. Breaking Matt’s rule made for a better strip. I like the Segar-ness of the story so far!

    David

    June 12, 2007 at 3:46 pm

  3. Oh thanks, thanks! I’m pleased.

    Been teaching all day. Will get to the person-less comic this evening.

    Tom

    June 12, 2007 at 5:35 pm

  4. PS- I wonder if I should have drawn the dolphin being fed a candy from the raft in the penultimate panel. Oh well- some other longer story can get more involved.

    Tom

    June 12, 2007 at 5:35 pm

  5. Bravo, Tom, I think this one turned out very nicely. Turning the darts to candies was a nice touch and it gave the strip a nice flow from calamity to bemused calm, as you were aiming for (Eno, etc.).

    I think you made an admirably small number of changes, even if you did make two changes in a single panel.

    Comparing it to the first strip, this one has the kind of implausible but satisfying integrity that you were maybe hoping for in that first one.

    And it has the added bonus that it give continuity and meaning to that first strip: now let’s see if you carry it all over into the third strip!

    Matt Madden

    June 12, 2007 at 5:39 pm

  6. I just re-read your post above: when you way 3 will bridge 1 and 2, does that mean it will run in between them?

    Matt Madden

    June 12, 2007 at 6:07 pm

  7. those small changes make such a world of difference. The change to candies makes the gun seem even more extreme though, maybe they would have been nicer people if they had tried candies first, rather than going for the heavy weaponry from the outset. I guess he was in something of a panic.

    andrew

    June 12, 2007 at 6:53 pm

  8. Yes a panic like me. Nice how that worked out.

    Tom

    June 12, 2007 at 10:53 pm


Leave a Reply

