Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

Second Obstruction: Tom’s Response, part 5

with 4 comments

6430d039-fac3-4b68-ad7a-675eadd02a93

5b72486c-03b2-4557-9dc1-f22181ec3cad
Ok, here’s the 2nd panel of the strip, second to last panel to be completed. I worry Oswald’s line is a waste here. I toyed with the idea of “my yellow tea cup”- to add this leitmotif to the strip, but I didn’t like that either. Also thought of Oswald’s line being an answer to panel one, to add to the series of questions and answers in the strip, but dropped that too.

Ultimately, this will be a simple strip about a harried rescue that winds down into drifting. It’s like an Eno song.

There will be a bird in the first panel.

TH

Written by hutchowen

June 11, 2007 at 2:50 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looking sharp, Tom. I think this one is progressing in such a strange and interesting way because you weren’t content merely to complete Matt’s list in the final panel, but added to it — most notably with the oversized teacup. Having imagined (somehow) that scenario for your characters, you’ve got the task of in-betweening from the end of the first strip to this one.

    But, for the sake of quibbling, I wonder whether the in-betweening has been, in some ways, a little too easy — or not as rigorous as it could be. I mean, it’s hard to imagine you having room for a naturalistic explanation of the giant teacup in a single (first) panel … and it’s true that in the world of drinking your way out of a beer vat, you don’t need a naturalistic explanation, but constraints might be too easy to satisfy if you allow yourself a handful of absurd / surreal elements.

    I guess what I mean is, I’d like to see you anchor these strips a little more firmly in the regular “world” of Hutch, without temporary inventions that are mainly there to get you out of tight spots. Does that make sense?

    Overall, though, I think it’s looking good.

    Isaac Cates

    June 11, 2007 at 4:29 pm

  2. Isaac- you realize you are just killing me over here, right? Matt’s going to eat that stuff up.

    Hutch Owen

    June 11, 2007 at 5:32 pm

  3. Tom’s right, Isaac, you do a very good job of utterly and finally shooting down Tom’s
    “it’s just a comic strip, I’ll do what I want” defense! Adding the teacup was brilliant but Isaac’s right that its effect would be even greater if it was somehow called for by what happens before. That’s why I’m still hoping you are going to find a way to if not explain then somehow work in the idea of the colored darts…

    Oswald’s line isn’t a waste, but Hutch’s might be. maybe he should be saying something more interesting/weird/story-moving which is interrupted by the appearance of the dolphin.

    M

    I’m going to have a late cup of coffee (I just got home) before I look at the first panel and consider the strip as a whole.

    Matt Madden

    June 11, 2007 at 6:30 pm

  4. Ah- I bit off more than I could chew. The teacup never became important. And the darts, well, I want to change that. See the next post.

    This could have been rectified by thinking considering DESIRE in the first panel that I started with, and not mood.

    That sounds like good long-term advice, in fact.

    Tom

    June 12, 2007 at 12:29 am


Leave a Reply

