Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

End of the year clean up

with 4 comments

The dozens of things I have yet to blog about:
Touring and Dining at the UN
4th Season of The Wire vs teaching in Washington Heights, NYC
Seeing Bread and Puppet with Heather and Ben
Getting rid of my tuburculosis
Getting a ticket on the subway in NYC and completely failing to charm the attendant judges or officers.

I’ll get to these things but for now, read the strip, that’s the blog.

Written by hutchowen

January 1, 2007 at 5:07 pm

Posted in From Tom

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. About the Tuesday 1/23 Hutch Owen — is this a reference to 1960s Dick Tracy strips? Are you old enough to remember 1960s Dick Tracys? At any rate, I’m impressed! Magnetism, heh!

    rich

    January 23, 2007 at 4:24 pm

  2. Hiya Rich-

    Well, yes I’m a big fan of Gould (especially after seeing so much of the original art at the Masters of Comic Art show in Newark)- he drew amazing fire, water, creepy villians, wonderful tension, etc. As for the magnetism line, I confess, I found it sitting in my notecards somewhere, and I was pretty sure I heard it somewhere, but it was lying there uncredited. I don’t know if I heard it somewhere, or dreamed it up. But magnetism! A great thing.

    Next up I should do a strip about the Theramin, I suppose.

    Leela

    January 24, 2007 at 9:57 am

  3. Opps- posted under my wife’s account,

    -TOM

    Leela

    January 24, 2007 at 9:57 am

  4. Well, whenever he showed the magnetic air cars in the late ’60s he’d invariably put in quotation marks at the bottom of the panel a statement like: “The nation that controls magnetism will control the world.” And it sounded very authoritative! Now, 30 years later, where is our magnetic air car technology? Which nation DOES control magnetism? Did Bush even MENTION magnets last night???

    rich

    January 24, 2007 at 11:20 am


Leave a Reply

