Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

Blumer stays a human

leave a comment »

Frog1
I originally sketched out a series of strips about how miserable this year was. Blumer puts on a plaster of paris Frog head- he’s begging out of the human race. Being Home Sapien is just too unbearable.

But I realized I felt like I was being slightly disingenuous. 2006 was a whole hell of a lot better than 05.

Tim Kreider says I am tormented by empathy. Maybe, but I am cursed by ignorance.

The year felt better cause Bush got spanked particularily hard. The rest of the world, the object of my usual empathy- did it get any damn better, or did it chug along it’s usual miserable tracks? I can’t make a claim either way. Seems like everything got steadily, slowly worse, but we’re used to that. It’s not a dramatic worsening.

Thus, Blumer can stay in the human race a bit longer, and we’ll shift gears and bring some good old fashioned salesmanship into the strip.

Frog2

Written by hutchowen

December 27, 2006 at 10:16 pm

Leave a Reply

