Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

First Class at Upright Citizens Brigade

leave a comment »

Ok I took my first class in troupe improv comedy at Upright Citizen’s Brigade and here’s how I SUCK:

I am too speedy, desperate, fast, harried. First thoughts are good, but you needn’t race to them out of panic.

I think what worries people often is that they will reveal themselves in their words and ideas. I worry I will reveal myself in my silences. I panic.

Anyway, for anyone interested, the rundown of the first session is a series of exercises as follows:

1- warm up game, where we learn each other’s names, pointing to people’s whos names we remember. They must respond with YES, and add to that, by telling a fact about themselves. This, introducing the super important rule of YES, AND… We did this for several rounds.

2- pet peeve game. We all get used to ranting and “using out passion” or something, which coming from a guy who rants on paper on a daily basis, I found it hard at first. So I went for NY coffee, and how you can’t pour your own milk, etc.

3- interview, in trios. We all get in chairs, and are interviewed by the instructor: “how do you all know each other?” This was fun. It was during this session that I realized everyone else were actors and I was the only housewife there.

4 – 3 lines. Introducing place and relationships in a few lines. Boy did I flub this one. Too fast too fast.

5 -Answer expertly. We all get in a circle and ask one person in the center all sorts of questions. They have to answer as completely expertly as possible. “Playing to our intelligence” as they say.

Written by hutchowen

May 14, 2006 at 11:51 pm

Posted in From Tom

Leave a Reply

