Cartooning Like You Mean It

Cartooning, Teaching & Living – by Tom Hart

Sweeping a joke into the later panels

leave a comment »

This Strip (last one down) was a doozy.

If anything, this whole comic strip experiment of mine is helping me crack open a format I previously disdained. For a very long time. I’m not sure I don’t still disdain it, sadly, except of course for American Elf

ANYWAY, writing this strip, originally the 3rd panel was the last panel, with some slightly different dialogue. I had a few more “yup”s in there for the delay and boredom of it. I liked that, but still wasn’t happy with the joke. This happens ALL THE TIME. I wind up pushing the joke farther and farther in time like I’m sweeping it into that last panel.

Like in this case, my original thought was that the fiddle line was the last line in the whole thing. Funny haha. Then I realized I had to add the next line, and then the next, and the next. This whole process was incredibly slow, as I was adding panels as I was inking. I’ll post the photos of that someday.

Long story short, I’m no natural at joke writing. It’s been fun to explore. I’m no natural at drawing, either. All this is why I’m a good teacher- since everything comes hard to me, I understand the struggle facing most students!

Now Karen, she’s a natural joke writer.

Written by hutchowen

January 30, 2006 at 9:58 am

Posted in From Tom

Leave a Reply

